7 Parkway West Students Named National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

Parkway School District has 28 high school students in semifinals vying for the prestigious scholarship.

The 2013 National Merit Scholarship has 28 Parkway School District semifinalists, seven of which are from Parkway West High School.

Parkway West recipients include:

  • Elizabeth L. Carroll
  • Andrew George
  • Kevin F. Koboldt
  • Jaron X. Ma
  • Ann Ni
  • Andrew Smith
  • Joanne O. Yu

The top scoring entrants from the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) are considered, as well as qualifications surrounding academics, SAT scores and recommendations. The Parkway release said about 8,300 National Merit scholarships totalling $3.2 million will be awarded next spring, while roughly 1.5 million high school juniors enter the competition upon taking the PSAT/NMSQT.

The release added about 90 percent of semifinalists will proceed to final rounds of consideration, and about half of finalists will receive a scholarship award.

Finalists from other Parkway high schools:

Parkway Central:

  • Jonathan H. Brand
  • Henry D. Chen
  • Tommy H. Du
  • Victor Ge
  • Tracy Y. Tang
  • Louis S. Wang
  • Hannah J. Wiedner
  • Joy L. Yang
  • Rebecca M. Zhang

Parkway North:

  • Miranda L. Siler

Parkway South:

  • Leela A. Chapman
  • Ruixue Cheng
  • Alicia N. Coronado
  • Katherine Y. Li
  • Joyce C. Lin
  • Edward J. Lu
  • Thomas A. Meisel
  • Christina L. Sittser
  • Asha R. Thanki
  • Mindy Xu
  • Satya Payan K. Yalla 


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »